February Return

February 17, 2009 at 2:16 pm (Kelowna Poems, Poems)

When we opened the front door after a week away,
valentines fluttered to the ground around our feet like
red rounded leaves or dozens of butterfly families
landing.

My parents let me read the Valentines
over and over again as I tried to drift
to sleep in their bed. Surrounded by small gifts
from my friends, I still couldn’t forget the
small piles of my grandfather’s ironed
and folded handkerchiefs on the dresser,
his cane hanging on the door handle,
the gift box of English Leather,
the beige canoe bank filled with pennies,
the stack of our cards and letters.

Leave a Reply

