The Party – March 6, 1999

August 27, 2008 at 4:19 am (Poems, The 90s)

 


I found one steady friend

in the wall outside and

showed him the stains

your skin left on my hands

 

Minutes palpitated and

I began to argue

but the smoke and liquor

choked me to the ground

 

I threw it all out

I threw it all out

All I could say when I found you was

I threw it all out

 

Someone claimed me and

jammed toast in my mouth

I asked the sink for support and

she said she’d be still

 

I returned to the room and collapsed

beside you – wet, pale and spent

If I stained Dan’s sheets

with my tattooed heart

he hasn’t discovered it yet

Leave a Reply

